A Richer Dust with CLSW

Saturday 11 November 2017, 7.30pm

St Sepulchre Without Newgate, Holborn Viaduct, London EC1A 2DQ

City of London Symphonic Winds

Edwin Roxburgh: Time’s Harvest
Eric Whitacre: Sleep
Nigel Clarke: Symphony No. 1, ‘A Richer Dust” for speaker and wind orchestra (words: Malene Sheppard Skaerved)

This very special concert for Remembrance weekend focuses on Nigel Clarke’s first symphony, ‘A Richer Dust’. It explores what it means to live with violence and extremism, the constant companions of human history. The work intertwines words collated from a wide range of sources by the writer Malene Sheppard Skærved with Clarke’s music, weaving together ideas and images in fragments of text from both historically significant figures and voiceless, ordinary people.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s